Searching for tyre
Find a dealer

COMMANDER II TYRE REVIEW

There are 68 reviews of the COMMANDER II

Global note

Bibendum icon
3.9/5
69 %
For any comments related to customer service (in-store experience, after-sales service, delivery, etc.) please contact us.

1-10 on 68 reviews

Sort by
Posted on 31 May 2024 by Estesphoto
1/5

Tire failure with less than 8000 miles. Warranty is a joke.

Loved the tires while they were usable. Great grip and handled amazing on my cruzer. However, with less than 8000 miles on the tires and less than 4 years into their so called 6 year warranty, the tire started coming apart on me on a ride. Have never gone faster than 75 on the tires, bike was garage kept, but they blame the desalination on improper use or storage. In other words, they blame it on something that they nor I can prove in order to not honor their warranty or stand behind their product. Won't be going back with their tires.

Dry surface grip
Longevity
Maneuverability
Stability
Wet surface grip
Buy the: 07/04/20
Posted on www.michelinman.com
Posted on 15 January 2024 by Adam
5/5
I recommend this tire

Great Tires

Best Tires I have Rode on to date. Full disclosure, I work for Michelin. The Commander 2,s I purchased a couple years prior to employment. Traction in wet/dry is superb. we rode countless hours in storms on road trips in 2020-2021 and no issues were had. Changed them out at just over 22,000mi due to cupping, That was my fault, I was not one to check my pressure very often. Went with Metzelers after that due to Covid/Backorder issues. Those were sketchy to say thye least in the rain. But I wore them out and am back on Commander 3,s now. Hoping they hold up as well as the 2,s.

Dry surface grip
Longevity
Maneuverability
Stability
Wet surface grip
Buy the: 07/10/20
Posted on www.michelinman.com

Thanks Adam, for your review of the Michelin Commander II tire. Definitely let us know what you think of your Michelin Commander III tires!

24 January 2024

Posted on 9 January 2024 by Yoch
5/5
I recommend this tire

No other tire goes on my sleds! None!

First discovered these in 2010 while looking for something that will last longer than 8000 miles. A fixed income disability check can't afford to buy tires every 6 months...and that's with me putting them on myself! Found these Commander II's and read some fine reviews about them for longevity and decided to 'splurge' and got some for my '09 Super Glide. Those tires went 25,000 miles on the front and 15,000 on the rear, pretty much *twice* what the Dunlops were giving me! I've been using these since. I put 87,000 miles on that '09 FXD in 4 years and was easily able to afford these tires because of their longevity. Not just the longevity I found out too, since the bike is the only transportation I own, I have to often ride in bad weather conditions during all times of the year. My next bike was a '98 Super Glide and yep, the tires from the '09 went on the '98, because they're that good. Unfortunately a cager t-boned me and now I have a wrecked bike with two brand new tires I can't use because I replaced that '98 FXD with a '97 Heritage Softtail Classic, so I can't use the same sizes of tires. Anyway, I got the FLSTC and first thing I did was take the old tires off and put these Commander II's on and the bike rides like a dream compared to the Dunlops. They don't track in cracks on the road or metal bridges, they don't make me sweat a load during the summer when taking turns on fast roads that have lots of tar snakes, and rain doesn't even phase them a bit.

Dry surface grip
Longevity
Maneuverability
Stability
Wet surface grip
Buy the: 16/08/23
Posted on www.michelinman.com

Thank you for the compliment. We are glad that you liked our product.

11 January 2024

Posted on 14 November 2023 by Matt
1/5

Vibrating awaits

Bought new front tire on 14 street glide, stuck in mountains of Tennessee and had to get an emergency replacement and as soon as the put this tire on I noticed vibration at certain speeds. Trash. And I had to pay $485 for it. It got me home,

Dry surface grip
Longevity
Maneuverability
Stability
Wet surface grip
Buy the: 12/09/23
Posted on www.michelinman.com
Posted on 30 October 2023 by Barge
5/5
I recommend this tire

Most excellent

You can't argue with 40,000 km travelled most of those 2up loaded up touring.

Dry surface grip
Longevity
Maneuverability
Stability
Wet surface grip
Buy the: 30/09/23
Posted on www.michelin.com.au
Posted on 30 October 2023 by Harley mad
5/5
I recommend this tire

Awesome tyres

Great tyres, very impressed with the quality, handling, Going to put on my roadking as well

Dry surface grip
Longevity
Maneuverability
Stability
Wet surface grip
Buy the: 20/05/23
Posted on www.michelin.co.nz
Posted on 12 October 2023 by GilRoy Scout
5/5
I recommend this tire

Great tires

These tires serve me well, got a flat on the rear and made it about ten miles to a population to get a tow, never broke seal on rim, rode 70-80 for short burst in New York down pour and handled great, solid traction, felt no slippage. Bike is gilroy Indian Scout, gotta weigh with me at least 750lbs. But did go up a size from factory, that gives me better ratings on tires.

Dry surface grip
Longevity
Maneuverability
Stability
Wet surface grip
Buy the: 15/05/21
Posted on www.michelinman.com
Posted on 3 October 2023 by Timbob
3/5

Very disappointed

The most slippery set of tires I have ever owned. Would not suggest these tires on a cruiser type bike.

Dry surface grip
Longevity
Maneuverability
Stability
Wet surface grip
Buy the: 02/09/23
Posted on www.michelinman.com

Hello Timothy Thank you for your review. Please contact Consumer Care if you would like to discuss your experience - available on business days from 8am - 7pm EST 1-800-847-3435

5 October 2023

Posted on 23 September 2023 by Chris
5/5
I recommend this tire

Great tire

I purchased my bike in 2019. Front tires were a bit old but had these tires. Was excited to see what I can get out of these tires from new. So purchased a new set. These tires made some noise in the turns but was washed out by the pipes until recently. Currently at 16k plus on my front tire. Plenty of tread left. But… I have a lot of wheel cupping on the left side. I did go a whole season never checking pressure and at beginning of the next season I was down 10psi on both so could be self inflicted. Makes for quite a howl when I turn left and at excessive speeds tends to wobble. However these tires have been amazing. Great traction great handling. When they had a few thousand miles I rode thru some really tight twisties and left a lot of other bikes in the dust. The guy on the gold wing I was tail gating looked at my tires when we stopped because he was impressed with the grip I was making. The wet traction is ok once I’m moving but where I’m a light rider on a powerful bike when I’m alone it wiggles it’s tail if I breathe near the throttle. With a passenger the take off and pulls in the rain are just like dry roads. Even on wet paint it grips with a hard pull. All in all very well done tire. I am going to upgrade to the commander 3s to see how these preform and last and will gladly write a review on those when the time comes.

Dry surface grip
Longevity
Maneuverability
Stability
Wet surface grip
Buy the: 23/09/23
Posted on www.michelinman.com
Posted on 12 September 2023 by JohnC
5/5
I recommend this tire

Commander II Victory Judge

Noticeable upgrade on the original rear tyre, better in all conditions.

Dry surface grip
Longevity
Maneuverability
Stability
Wet surface grip
Buy the: 10/10/22
Posted on www.michelin.com.au